for players under 18 and their parents/legal guardians
On January 1, 2014, a new Oregon law, Senate Bill 721, will take effect. This law affects all sports league coaches (including managers), league governing bodies, nonschool athletic teams (which are teams with persons under age 18 and not affiliated with a public school in Oregon), and referee governing bodies and referees that are affiliated with, or otherwise sponsored or organized by, a nonprofit corporation established as provided by ORS chapter 65.
SB 721 requires that your league supply you and at least one parent or legal guardian with guidelines and materials to inform and educate you and your parents or legal guardians about the symptoms and warning signs of a concussion.
For each year of participation, and prior to a person under 18 years of age participating in any of our affiliated leagues, at least one parent or legal guardian must acknowledge the receipt of the guidelines and materials and must confirm the review of those guidelines and materials by:
a) The parent or legal guardian of the person; and
b) If the person is 12 years of age or older, the person.
Before you will be allowed to participate in 2014, you and one of your parents or legal guardians must review the materials by selecting the links below and returning a completed PARENT’S LIABILITY RELEASE AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF CONCUSSION GUIDELINES AND MATERIALS form to our office.
Your league may forward you additional information regarding their guidelines and policies regarding returning to play after a suspected or observed concussion.
If you have any questions or would like additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Roger Hamilton, President, Oregon Adult Soccer Association
Anne Braghero, Operations Director, Oregon Adult Soccer Association